Staff Recommendations

Keep checking back for the latest recommendations from our Full Circle Staffers!

Recommended by Theresa

Lost Boy by Christina Henry: “A really good and quick read! A very interesting retelling of Peter Pan and Captain Hook. You will never think about those two the same way again!”

Recommended by Bella

The Rules of Magic by Alice Hoffman: I loved this novel! If you’re a fan of Practical Magic, you’ll love this prequel. Told by the Aunts and set in the (already magical) 1960’s, this is a lovely and heart-breaking tale, full of magic, true love, curses, cousins, and the reminder to always keep lavender by your garden gate!”

Recommended by Bethany

Three Sides of a Heart by Natalie Parker: “A lot of very intriguing and unique short stories written by young adult authors. They vary from coming-of-age to sci-fi to historical fiction.”

Georgiana: Duchess of Devonshire by Amanda Foreman: “Probably one of the most interesting women that ever lived, Georgiana led fashion and politics…and the world was entranced by her.”

Recommended by Catherine

The Future Is History by Masha Gessen: “This is a look into the lives of those who lived through the rise of the Putin regime in Russia. Gessen continues to be an incredible voice and an exceptional author.”

The Power by Naomi Alderman: “This is a wonderful thought experiment of what life may be like if power belonged to women in society” Trigger Warning: Rape & Violent Acts

How To Sit by Tich Nhat Hanh: “If you need to start meditating, this is an exceptional place to start!”

Recommended by Heath

They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera: “I really enjoyed this emotional and thought-provoking book! While the book centers on death, it is truly a celebration of life. This is for the reader who likes a little romance, a little adventure, and whole lot of feeling!”

David Bowie by Dylan Jones: “It has been two years since Bowie’s passing and I found this to be an insightful look into both the man and the legend. Composed of various interviews from people who knew him, Jones’ book is a celebration of Bowie’s art, image, and self.”

Recommended by Ian

Call Me By Your Name by Andre Aciman: “This hypnotic love story between a grad student and a professor’s son is now on the big screen, but Aciman’s hypnotic, lyrical prose deserves attention. Heartbreaking and tender, this is a queer love story of the 1980’s, but also, perhaps, for us now.”

Recommended by Julia

Grist Mill Road by Christopher Yates: “The first “Wait-what just happened?” moment occurred in chapter 2, and I was hooked! Twists, suspense, secrets – a great read for fans of Gone Girl, Girl on the Train, and In a Dark, Dark Wood.”

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding by Alexandra Bracken: “A wonderful young adult novel that had me intrigued and laughing out loud. This is the first in a duology, and I am greatly forward to the conclusion.”

Recommended by Julie

The Life Changing Manga of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo: “A fun version of Marie’s first book. Great visual representation of what “sparks joy” (get rid of what does not). Make room in your life for what you really want to do!”

Soul Space by Xorin Balbes: “Very informative and easy to read: Clearing your home can actually help you in all areas of your life! You can take easy steps to clear your space and your head!”

Froggy Bottom Blues by Sharon Edge Martin: “Ellen Zanderfrog finds a trumpet beside Frog Creek and decides to go to Memphis to play the Blues. On the way, things change – A fun adventure story – Does EZ make it to Memphis? What happens there? Is it a dream come true?”

Recommended by Linda

Good Karma by Christina Kelly: “Catherine’s husband, Ralph, has decided it’s time to retire. Catherine, Ralph, and her beloved Boston Terrier, Karma, relocate to a gated retirement community off the coast of Savannah. Ralph plays poker and golf and flirts with the pretty real estate agent, while Catherine hangs out with the gang at the dog park. Will their 40 plus year marriage survive?”

The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg: ” 85 year-old, Arthur Moses, has been a widower for 6 months. He visits his wife’s grave every day for lunch no matter what. One day, he meets 17 year-old Maddy Harris at the cemetery where she comes to escape the bullies at school during lunch hour. Thus, begins a very unconventional friendship. This story is reminiscient of Kent Haruf’s Plainsong novels.”

Recommended by Matthew

We Were Eight Years in Power by Ta-Nehisi Coates: “In these fraught political times, Coates’ perspective on race and society at large is incredibly necessary reading. Some of the best essays I’ve ever read.”

The Perfect Pass by S.C. Gwynne: “The story of how your favorite sport was forever changed by one guy you’ve never heard of. Irreverent and enlightening, a great gift for dads and football fans.”

Basketball (and Other Things) by Shea Serrano: “With hilarious wit and even more hilarious illustrations, Serrano answers the questions about basketball you never thought to ask. Questions like who ranks higher in a fictional character NBA draft: Air Bud or Teen Wolf?”

 

 

 

 

 

Upcoming Events

May 25

Jared Jenks to perform!
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

May 26

Collin Holloway to perform!
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

May 27

Last Sunday Poetry Reading!
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

May 28

Store closes at 3:00pm
3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Jun 1

Zach Sprowls to perform!
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Jun 2
Jun 2

Miss Brown to You to perform!
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

The Garden Café at Full Circle Bookstore serves a delectable breakfast menu and a delicious selection of soups, salads, sandwiches and sweets for lunch. We also offer a variety of after-hour nibbles, as well as wine and local beers. Join us for breakfast Monday-Friday, from 8:00-10:00am, and lunch Monday- Saturday from 11:30am-2:00pm.

In addition, our Java Joe Coffee Bar can make any espresso or cappuccino drink you may want.

Please refer to our Garden Cafe tab at the top of our site for detailed menus.
You may also call ahead for “To Go” orders, 842-2900.