Staff Recommendations

Keep checking back for the latest recommendations from our Full Circle Staffers!

Recommended by Theresa

Lost Boy by Christina Henry: “A really good and quick read! A very interesting retelling of Peter Pan and Captain Hook. You will never think about those two the same way again!”

To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra Christo: “A loose and dark retelling of Disney’s Little Mermaid. In which the princess siren will bow to no one and the prince does not want to rule a kingdom. Read it!”

Recommended by Bella

The Astonishing Color of After by Emily XR Pan:“This book is beyond moving! With colorful, vivid imagery, much like The Book Thief, this young girl’s journey will take you far across the world, transcending space, time, and death. Beautiful!”

Recommended by Bethany

Three Sides of a Heart by Natalie Parker: “A lot of very intriguing and unique short stories written by young adult authors. They vary from coming-of-age to sci-fi to historical fiction.”

Recommended by Catherine

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer: “This is a glimpse into the unknown realm of the subconscious mind. OR… it’s a great novel of aliens. That’s for you to decide, I suppose.”

The Future Is History by Masha Gessen: “This is a look into the lives of those who lived through the rise of the Putin regime in Russia. Gessen continues to be an incredible voice and an exceptional author.”

The Power by Naomi Alderman: “This is a wonderful thought experiment of what life may be like if power belonged to women in society” Trigger Warning: Rape & Violent Acts

Recommended by Dana

Autumn by Ali Smith: “OK, you have to stick with this book and think about it for awhile, but I think you will end up loving it! It is very timely and thought provoking. Best of all, it is the first of a series of “seasons.”

Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate: “Based on true stories, this is a lovely book about the search for one’s roots and family. It’s hard to fathom such malevolence in the world, but the ending makes it all worthwhile.”

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert: “The first few paragraphs of this book promise a dark journey. Although it wasn’t the journey I was expecting – it is a wild and fantastical ride. Magical realism at its best.”

Recommended by Heath

Circe by Madeline Miller: “I loved this book! Circe is for anyone who loves Greek mythology, magic, and strong women. Miller expertly researches her subject so that she may take creative liberties when telling her own version of the Circe legend! It will not disappoint!”

Our Kind of Cruelty by Araminta Hall: “This book is for the reader who loves Gone Girl and other stories that delve into the darker side of the human psyche. this book is not for the faint of heart and may include a few *trigger warnings* for the more sensitive reader.”

They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera: “I really enjoyed this emotional and thought-provoking book! While the book centers on death, it is truly a celebration of life. This is for the reader who likes a little romance, a little adventure, and whole lot of feeling!”

Recommended by Ian

Call Me By Your Name by Andre Aciman: “This hypnotic love story between a grad student and a professor’s son is now on the big screen, but Aciman’s hypnotic, lyrical prose deserves attention. Heartbreaking and tender, this is a queer love story of the 1980’s, but also, perhaps, for us now.”

Feel Free: Essays by Zadie Smith: “In her second collection of essays, Smith addresses topics as wide-ranging as Brexit, her avoidance of social media, and the differing approaches of Prince and Michael Jackson when it comes to dance. Fans of Smith’s fiction will appreciate her ever-present fusion of playful inquiry and sophistication, which shines in the essay format. Collectively, they probe questions of freedom, constraint, and truth.”

Recommended by Julia

Grist Mill Road by Christopher Yates: “The first “Wait-what just happened?” moment occurred in chapter 2, and I was hooked! Twists, suspense, secrets – a great read for fans of Gone Girl, Girl on the Train, and In a Dark, Dark Wood.”

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding by Alexandra Bracken: “A wonderful young adult novel that had me intrigued and laughing out loud. This is the first in a duology, and I am greatly forward to the conclusion.”

Recommended by Julie

The Life Changing Manga of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo: “A fun version of Marie’s first book. Great visual representation of what “sparks joy” (get rid of what does not). Make room in your life for what you really want to do!”

Soul Space by Xorin Balbes: “Very informative and easy to read: Clearing your home can actually help you in all areas of your life! You can take easy steps to clear your space and your head!”

Recommended by Linda

Good Karma by Christina Kelly: “Catherine’s husband, Ralph, has decided it’s time to retire. Catherine, Ralph, and her beloved Boston Terrier, Karma, relocate to a gated retirement community off the coast of Savannah. Ralph plays poker and golf and flirts with the pretty real estate agent, while Catherine hangs out with the gang at the dog park. Will their 40 plus year marriage survive?”

The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg: ” 85 year-old, Arthur Moses, has been a widower for 6 months. He visits his wife’s grave every day for lunch no matter what. One day, he meets 17 year-old Maddy Harris at the cemetery where she comes to escape the bullies at school during lunch hour. Thus, begins a very unconventional friendship. This story is reminiscient of Kent Haruf’s Plainsong novels.”

Recommended by Matthew

We Were Eight Years in Power by Ta-Nehisi Coates: “In these fraught political times, Coates’ perspective on race and society at large is incredibly necessary reading. Some of the best essays I’ve ever read.”

The Perfect Pass by S.C. Gwynne: “The story of how your favorite sport was forever changed by one guy you’ve never heard of. Irreverent and enlightening, a great gift for dads and football fans.”

Basketball (and Other Things) by Shea Serrano: “With hilarious wit and even more hilarious illustrations, Serrano answers the questions about basketball you never thought to ask. Questions like who ranks higher in a fictional character NBA draft: Air Bud or Teen Wolf?”

 

 

 

 

 

Upcoming Events

Jul 17

Conversational Spanish!
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Jul 19
Jul 20

Randy Cassimus to perform!
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Jul 21

Story Time with Miss Julie!
10:15 am - 11:15 am

Jul 21

Howard Brady to perform!
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Jul 24

Conversational Spanish!
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

The Garden Café at Full Circle Bookstore serves a delectable breakfast menu and a delicious selection of soups, salads, sandwiches and sweets for lunch. We also offer a variety of after-hour nibbles, as well as wine and local beers. Join us for breakfast Monday-Friday, from 8:00-10:00am, and lunch Monday- Saturday from 11:30am-2:00pm.

In addition, our Java Joe Coffee Bar can make any espresso or cappuccino drink you may want.

Please refer to our Garden Cafe tab at the top of our site for detailed menus.
You may also call ahead for “To Go” orders, 842-2900.